Awards and Recognition

Awards and Recognition Committee

The UC Davis Emeriti Association Awards and Recognition Committee coordinates and is responsible for the distribution of three awards given annually by the association. These awards are:

The 2017-2018 Dickson Professorships Awards are announced:

This year the UC Davis Emeriti Association have selected three individuals to receive the 2017-2018 Dickson Professorship. This award is given to individuals who continue high value research after their retirement. The following Professor Emeriti were selected from an excellent group of researchers.

  • Professor Emeritus Peter Hays, English; “Subsidization of publication of reading The Old Man and the Sea” 
  • Professor Emerita Martha Macri, Native American Studies; “Investigating the Origins and Cultural Evolution of Human Communication Systems: Comparing Two Early Scripts from Mexico and Central America”
  • Professor Emeritus Frederic Troy, II, Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine, School of Medicine; “Chain Length of Polysialic Acid Chains on Adult Neural Stem Cells from Spiral Ganglion Neurons636”

The Dickson Award receipients will be recognized at the Chancellor's Luncheon for Academic Retirees and Emeriti in January 2018.

The 2017 UC Davis Distinguished Emeritus/a Award announced

Robert Cardiff, the 2018 UC Davis Distinguished Emeritus Award holder.

The UC Davis Emeriti Association is pleased to announce that Professor Emeritus Robert Cardiff has been selected to receive the UC Davis Distinguished Emeritus award for 2018. This recognition is awarded annually to honor outstanding scholarly work or service performed by a UC Davis emeritus/a since retirement by the UCDEA. Dr. Cardiff, Center for Comparative Medicine at the UC Davis, remains one of the most productive research faculty at UC Davis. More on the UC Davis Distinguished Emeritus/a Award page.

Prestigious Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award

The Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award is a UC-systemwide award that honors emeritus/emerita in the humanities or social sciences for outstanding scholarly work or educational service performed since retirement. Read more.

For Further Information

Please contact the UCDEA Awards and Recognition Committee via the UC Davis Retiree Center.

More information about the UCDEA Awards and Recognition Committee, including committee description and charge.