Report of Awards and Recognition Committee 2014-2015

Chair: D.W Rains

Linda Morris Emily Werner Joe Tupin Al Harrison (deceased)

With the passing of one member and the resignation of a second committee member we have replaced those positions with Barbara Goldman (Education) and Shirley Peterson (Social Sciences) for the upcoming 2015-2016 term.

The committee is responsible for requesting applicants and evaluating three awards, the Edward A. Dickson Professorship, the UC Davis Distinguished Emeritus/a Award and the UC-system wide Constantine Panunzio Award.

This year we had 12 applicants for the Dickson Award. A total of \$25,500 was divided among the four recipients. We awarded professorships to

- Professors Martha Macri
- Dan Anderson
- Hugh Dingle
- Peter Schiffman

We chose Professor Robin Thorp from among eight for Distinguished Emeriti Award.

We nominated Professor Isao Fujimoto for the all UC Campus Panunzio Award, however, he was not selected.

We had a large number of excellent applicants for each of the awards this year and the Committee did a great job in evaluating and recommending the awardees.

A couple of issues were raised during this year's deliberations.

- 1. One issue was who is qualified. We have different categories of Emeriti on the campus. We accept individuals who have received Emeritus/ae status by appointment by the Chancellor and are not necessarily members of the Academic Senate. Our Committee will take this under advisement and present our finding to the Executive Committee.
- 2. Another issue is whether applicants who have been a recipient of an award are eligible for additional consideration.