AWARDS AND RECOGNITION COMMITTEE

UC DAVIS EMERITI ASSOCIATION

2012-2013 ANNUAL REPORT

10 June 2013

REPORT OF ACTIVITIES 2012-2013

The UC Davis Awards and Recognition Committee reviews applications and nominations for the campus-wide Edward A Dickson Distinguished Emeriti Professorship, the UC Davis Distinguished Emeriti Professorship, and the university-wide Constantin Panunzio Award in the humanities and social sciences. The committees recommendations are then forwarded to the UCDEA Board as a whole, and, with the Board's recommendation, forwarded to the next higher authority. During 2012-2013 four emeriti working on individual research and education projects shared the Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship award, and Eldridge Moores received the UC Davis Distinguished Emeriti Professorship. The total amount of funds available for Dickson Awards was raised from \$10,000 to \$20,000 in 2011-2012 and to \$25,000 in 2012-2013. We expect this amount to be stable or to increase. Unfortunately, our very strong candidate for Panunzio was unsuccessful.

As proposed in last year's committee report, we developed a set of guidelines and pointers to help applicants prepare stronger proposals for the Dickson Award and to facilitate the review process.

As we end 2012-2013, Albert Harrison resigned as chair but will remain on the committee, and Bill Rains who recently joined the committee accepted the chairmanship. Thus apart from the role of chair the membership remains stable. The committee now consists of Albert Harrison, Linda Morris, Joe Tupin, Emmy Werner, and Bill Rains, Chair.

PLANS FOR 2013-2014

- 1. We will seek ways to expand the range of expertise represented on the committee.
- 2. We will continue to seek ways to expand the pools of qualified applicants.
- 3. Through improving the nomination process and developing better dossiers we hope to strengthen the campus's case for the 2014 Panunzio Award.