AWARDS AND RECOGNITION COMMITTEE

UC DAVIS EMERITI ASSOCIATION

2010-2011 ANNUAL REPORT

9 May, 2011

REPORT OF ACTIVITIES 2011- 2012

The UC Davis Awards and Recognition Committee review applications and nominations for the campus-wide Edward A Dickson Distinguished Emeriti Professorship, the UC Davis Distinguished Emeriti Professorship, and the university-wide Constantin Panunzio Award in the humanities and social sciences. The committees recommendations are then forwarded to the UCDEA Board as a whole, and, with the Board's recommendation, forwarded to the next higher authority. During 2011-2012 four emeriti working on individual research and education projects shared the Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship award and Alex McCalla received the UC Davis Emeriti Professorship. We were pleased with the size of the candidate pools, including a larger and more competitive pool for the Panunzio Award. Unfortunately, our very strong candidate for Panunzio was unsuccessful. The total amount of funds available for Dickson Awards was raised from \$10,000 to \$20,000.

As we entered 2011-2012, and one member resigned upon accepting an academic appointment at another university and another resigned for personal reasons. We are grateful for Charley Hess and Don Chakerian's service as interim members. As we enter 2012-2013 the committee consists of Linda Morris, Bill Rains, Joe Tupin, Emmy Werner, and Albert Harrison, Chair.

PLANS FOR 2012-2013

- 1. We will develop a set of guidelines and pointers to help applicants prepare stronger proposals for the Dickson Award.
- 2. We will find ways to strengthen the campus's case for the Panunzio Award.